Late night sewing and eco labels

Its been a busy week and the onset of summer here in the north has definitely given me more energy! Apart from crafty creations I have replanted all the plants in the house, -so now they are very happy, and the girls room got a little make over and am just about to complete an eco-outfit for my youngest.

Some time ago I sourced these beautiful vintage woven tea towels which I am now transforming to summer dresses. However as I have two curious creatures in the house it is much safer (and easier) to get the sewing machine out at night…(hence the industrial spotlight).  I used old invoices to make some quick pattern pieces in order to re-use existing materials, and the best invention was the eco labels! For that I made a mixture of very strong coffee and salt which I then applied to cotton bands by using rubber stamps and hey! -I got some garment labels! you know; coffee stains the fibres and salt acts as a fixative and together they make an ecological ink!  So these are the first samples:

2014-05-25 20.38.41

well, I still did not get the iron out and got to complete the neck and hemline however today I tried it on to check the fit and yes it looks like it will work! (will get some photos with my little model once its 100% completed)

2014-05-23 23.15.17 2014-05-23 23.15.482014-05-23 23.14.55 2014-05-23 23.14.14

so now I have to make one for big sis too, -equal rights are an important factor in a democratic home! that’s why I made two eco labels straight away, I know what I have in front of me and I better get on with it A.S.A.P.  Anyhow; – here you can see the printing process: to make an ink pad I just cut off a small piece of cleaning cloth and gently soaked it with the coffee & salt mixture, and I would recommend that you test print on a scrap piece of paper before you apply it to the real item.

2014-05-25 18.03.002014-05-25 18.07.422014-05-25 18.09.14

2014-05-25 20.37.132014-05-25 20.38.07

So there we are; front and back view with an eco label, and yes; will get on with the second one now, -see you soon!

 

 

One thought on “Late night sewing and eco labels

Leave a Reply

