Say no to advertising and go digital

Today I am very proud of myself for phoning up different commercial companies who send me their directories and paper adverts and cancel all this junk mail. Even thou we have a note on our door saying “no advertising” we still receive everything which carries our name and address, so thanks to Bea Johnson’s book ‘Zero Waste Home’ where she cleverly explains that the best way to reduce waste is by stopping it from entering your home I had the idea of stopping this junk mail from entering our home by contacting the ones who send it. Believe it or not,  everyone I spoke with was very friendly and happy to help with this idea of decreasing waste and paper consumption.  Also there are a lot of companies who now-a-days send you advertising digitally and even thou that can be annoying too at least it does not physically use resources.

That leads me on to my second topic; digital work. I have spent the last week or so creating art work on the computer, well its not all done on the computer, I have used paintings and drawings which I had laying around and collaged them together in to new pieces.I am now going to reproduce them in a certified environmentally friendly printing company, and compare the material used that way versus using paint and glue. The question to be explored: is digital reproduction better for the environment then physically using art material and making things new 1st hand?well I think so but am not sure yet, but I have just spoken to the printers and we have decided to do a test run first and then work out the impact, so I can compare the use of ink versus the use of paint per piece…These are the pieces to be tested, what do you think?

HeadWEBSHOPCHANGEWEBSHOP

One thought on “Say no to advertising and go digital

Leave a Reply

